skip to main |
skip to sidebar
Its hard to believe that only 10:00 hours ago I was flying down that runway. Today was my first time doing circuits in the DA40, although it feels easier than in the previous PA-28 (I suspect that some of that is to do with the massive runway...) its still hard going. The DA40 can move so when travelling down the downwind leg the final turn comes on quick...
I guess that performing a circuit sounds easy an on paper it does, until you do it. I'm flying again Thursday so will upload a diagram of the circuit with notes.
I think part of the problem is that I am perfectionist and although Justin, my instructor, is very good with praise I still feel that I'm making a mess of it. I'm getting better and feel more confident in this plane, but I know I can do better and can't understand why its not working for me. A pilot that I was talking to last year said, there will be times when you think that you just can't get it right and you want to give in, then all of a sudden it just clicks.
I'm not going to give in and I won't be beaten by it.
To give you an idea of what happens in the circuit I'll run through it, assuming that you have touched down from the previous circuit. So you are rolling down the runway, trying to maintain the centre line of the runway using the rudder, its harder than it sounds. You put your flap away, push the engine to full power, mainting the centre line. As soon as the craft reaches 60-65 knots you gently pull the stick back and she takes off, at about 100ft you push the nose gently down to reduce the climb and gain speed. Once you have reached about 80 knots you can pull the stick back and carry on the climb.
Once the plane reaches 500-600ft you look around and then bank either right or left (depending on the circuit type, today was left). Still climbing maintaing 80knots, once you are at a right angle to the runway you straighten up, still climbing once at 1000 ft you bank left to run parallel to the runway, reducing the power to maintain the 1000 ft, dropping to about 75% power. About halfway down you report in to the tower, naming your callsign and your location. "G-xx Downwind"
Once the other end of the runway is about 45' behind you, you bank left, again at a right angle to the runway. While banking left, you need to reduce power all the way back while keeping pulling the nose up to reduce speed down to 70knots, once at 70knots you trim the plane for that speed, slowly descending as the speed drops. Once the airspeed is in the "white arc" you can drop a stage of flap.
You then bank left and line up for the final approach, announcing it to the tower "G-xx Final", you need to maintain the 70 knots. Keeping the nose of the plane into wind, today that meant that plane was pointing about 30' off centre which was a very strange feeling.
If you slow you can either put the nose forward to increase the speed or add in a little power. Once you are over the airfield you "aim" for the numbers on the runway, reducing the power to nothing. Once you are about 20' above the runway you pull back gently on the stick to flare the aircraft and it should gently touch down. Once on the ground you use the rudders to maintain the centre line, pop the flaps away, push the engine to full power .... and repeat.
Its hard work, doing all the things at once, but I'm going to get it right on my next lesson.
Till thursday.
One of the things that I decided to do a long time ago was to learn to fly when I could afford it and I now can. Many years ago my partner (Sue) bought me a trial flight as a birthday present and I loved it so here we are. I started the lessons in October last year and have clocked up over 12 hours of flying so far.
I fly with Sheffield City Flying School, when I first popped in to enquire about costs etc I was met by one of their instructors (Justin), who is so enthusiastic about flying that I couldn't wait to get started. He has been very patient with me and makes flying fun, he genuinly seems to enjoy what he does. All the instructors that I have met there, including the owner are very friendly and I can't recommend them enough.
We decided early on the it would be best for me to learn to fly in a PA-28 which is a four seater plane as I'm not really built for the two seater plane. The plan I have clocked up the most hours in is a PA-28-180, whos' call sign is G-DLTR, she is a nice plane to fly and I was making reasonable progree with her.
The current stage of my flying has reached a point where I am in the "circuit", the circuit is basically where you fly in a giant rectangle, landing at an airfield, rolling down the runway and taking straight off again, repeating it over and over again to get the hang of most aspects of flight.
This has been the hardest thing so far for me, doing everything at the right time, mainting the descent, keeping the speed right etc... its the most stress I have been under for a long time, my last lesson but one things starting coming together and I felt a lot better about it. My biggest problem is that I am my own worst crittic and keep beating myself up, then just as I thought I was making progress Justin suggested trying a new plane that they have just got in...
I'll try most things once and I am so glad I did, the new plane is a DA-40/D and it is amazing, do responsive, climbs very quickly and as it has a plexiglass cockpit cover the views are amazing and the speed....
I have booked some extra lessons, plus a nighttime flight for next week and I can't wait to get back in the air.
If you live in the South Yorks area and fancy a trial flight or learning to fly then I cannot recommend my school highly enough, their website can be found here
http://www.sheffieldcityflyingschool.net/
I have started keeping my logbook online, it details can be found
http://www.e-logbooks.com/pilots/log_book.asp?pilot=PJolliffe
Well I have thought about it sometime and decided that it was time that I started a blog, so here we are...
Its been a long week, it started off badly. I work as an IT contractor, currently based in Sheffield. Its only about 80 miles from home, but as their is no direct route it can take 2-3 hours to get there so I rent a small house near the M1. Due to the bad weather forecast for the Monday I decided to head over on the Sunday night as I normally head over on the Monday morning, but I didn't fancy getting up at 05:30 and fighting through the snow to get over Snake Pass.
So I set off at 22:30, aiming to get to the rented house for sometime after midnight. That time of the night it shouldn't have taken more than a maximum of 2 hours.... famous last words...
I drive a BMW E39, its a 5 Series with the built in GPS, I've upgraded the computer to the newer Mark IV as it was origionally had a Mark III. The reason for the upgrade was to enable the TMC function, for those of you that don't know the TMC is the automated traffic channel and provides electronic traffic "issues".
As I was nearing the end of the M56, just before pulling onto the M60 the female computer voice chirps in "Road Ahead Closed" on investigation it the computer screen is showing that the M67 is closed between J3 and 4, with the computer you have the option to get it to automatically give you a diversion route.
My first mistake... I used to work on the outskirts of Stockport so thought to myself, no probs, nip through Bredbury on the A560 and pick up the A57 and join the end of the M67 then head over Woodhead (A628). Just for kicks I ask it to divery me and it then starts talking about the M62... so I ignore it and follow my planned route.
As I near Stockport on the M60 there is evidence of snow, the further round the M60 I go the whiter things appear. I pull off onto the A560 and head off... yep... looks like they have had some real snow... as I approach the A57 the otherside of Bredbury it looks like the have had a good 2-3"s... I make my way cautiously to the the junction where the A57 crosses the end of the M67, wow... its almost like a Christmas card, loads of snow. The road is nice and clear so off I head following the A628 towards Woodhead, the main display sign showing that both passes are open so off I head.
The other side of Tintwistle is completley covered in snow, but again the road is clear so off I go... five miles before the end of the pass there is a gritter parked across the road blocking it.. Bugger... should have listened to the car, I got out and asked the guy when the pass was likely to open he reckoned at least 40 minutes, but it might not reopen.. Bugger so I turn round and this time follow the cars instructions .... I finally get to the house at 01:40... one long journey and no snow in Sheffield.
I took the picture just outside Tintwistle.